Visit us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Follow us on LinkedIn
In pertnership with Guild Insurance
Australian Childcare Alliance
Further to the Fair Work Commission’s (FWC) decision of March this year to introduce an annual entitlement of up to...
As you would be acutely aware, the government's new Child Care Subsidy (CCS) has now replaced the previous system (Child...
The Federal Government has extended the timeframe for providers to ensure arrangements for transitioning enrolments (enrolled at your ECEC service...
The department has developed an Addendum to the QKFS Funding Requirements 2018 which contains important information about the Australian Government’s...
Gap payments in early learning service (centre based / long day care) Approved early learning services must accurately report the actual...
This morning, 1 June 2018, the Minimum Wage Panel of the Fair Work Commission (FWC) handed down its Minimum Wage...

Changes have been made to the Excellent rating following the agreed changes to the National Quality Framework (NQF) by education Ministers and ACECQA’s review of the criteria.

Commencing from 1 February 2018, the changes include:

  • Eligibility –To be eligible to apply for the Excellent rating, a service must be rated Exceeding National Quality Standard in all seven Quality Areas. 
    • There are no changes to the way in which the overall rating for Exceeding NQS is calculated. To be rated Exceeding NQS overall, all quality areas must be at least Meeting NQS, and four or more quality areas must be Exceeding NQS, with at least two of these being quality areas 1, 5, 6, or 7.
    • To be rated Exceeding NQS in a Quality Area, all standards in that Quality Area must be rated Exceeding NQS.
    •  For Western Australia, this change will be implemented by 1 October 2018.
  • Application fee – There will no longer be an application fee for the Excellent rating.
  • Criteria – Two themes in Criterion 1, that are used by ACECQA to guide assessment of applications, will be combined.

More information is available in the Changes to the Excellent rating information sheet and on the ACECQA website.